Processing your request

Thank you for your patience.

AEP Foundation provides funding for UC's Innovation Scholarship

November 18, 2020

University of Charleston News Release

Charleston, WV – The American Electric Power Foundation has awarded funding through a grant to establish an endowed scholarship at the University of Charleston.

The $50,000 grant provides one of the university’s Innovation Scholars with a scholarship as part of the program throughout their four-year UC career.

“The Foundation strives to improve the quality of life for people in the communities where AEP and its operating units serve and where AEP employees live and work,” said Chris Beam, Appalachian Power President and COO. 

“The UC Innovation Scholar Program educates, inspires, and mentors a diverse group of students from all schools within the university in the science of innovation and real-world applications,” said David Ramsburg, Director of Innovation at the University of Charleston. “Students in this rigorous program lead ambitious initiatives designed to promote innovation within their disciplines, as well as throughout the state and region.  We are grateful for the AEP Foundation’s support in building the next generation of innovation professionals.”

The University of Charleston Innovation Scholars is a highly competitive program established in 2016. Based out of the Russell and Martha Wehrle Innovation Center, there are currently 16 Scholars in the program. 


Roanoke County launches planning effort with Appalachian Power grant

Learn More


Leadership WV receives $25,000 from AEP Foundation as part of company's ongoing diversity & inclusion initiative

Learn More


NRCC Educational Foundation receives $50,000 grant from AEP Foundation

Learn More

Welcome back!

Please login to manage your account.